Five Catastrophic Customer Service Mistakes along with Related Dialogue Snippets – kapdesk

five-catastrophic-customer-service-mistakes-along-with-related-dialogue-snippets

Every customer is like the precious.
Every business should treat every single customer like the way Golem treats the ring. They should be ideally kept close and shining.
But there’s just one difference.
At any point of time, Customers can talk back and leave your business right through the door…
In this scenario, your business customer service becomes a critical point of intersection.
In this blog, we are dealing with five catastrophic customer service mistakes that could potentially derail your business.

1.    Giving a Flimsy and Irresponsible answer
Surprisingly, even some of the biggest organizations continue to provide inadequate service backed by lack of sufficient knowledge. Often these employees don’t have adequate service or system to handle incoming customer queries.
Often, the end result is fuming customers and steep drop in customer goodwill.
Let’s demonstrate this by taking a brief snippet of conversation between two parties.
Customer: My Service got disconnected. My customer service number is 9514525524.
CS executive: Did you try disconnecting and plugging it back again.
Customer: Yes, I also tried some tricks given in the instruction manual. Can you send someone over here?
CS executive: I’m not responsible or authorized to attend to assign anyone. However, I will add you in a pending list of clients.
Customer: Then, why I’m I talking to you. I need this by the end of the day.
CS executive: Yes, sir. I understand. This needs to have a consensually adequate solution.
Customer: No, I just want my damn service restored.
Customer Hangs Up

2.    Making your Conversations too Technical
This is the most common communication pitfall for any technology-related business, especially for SaaS and related industries.
Let’s take a dialogue snippet for the concerned team.
CS executive: Hello sir, how can we help you?
Customer: I don’t know! My application suddenly charged me extra without any due notice?
CS executive: Can I know your user name and the package to which you are enrolled?
Customer: I have a monthly $20 package and my user name is shane!@#.com.
CS executive: Ok, Got it. You are having a package that includes licensing for the above features for one year. But some of the features that you don’t want to use are not included. So you may have to stop using them. Alternately, you may also have to shift between multiple channels to avail increased clarity without increased charges…
Customer: Ok. But I didn’t exactly follow you. I will find someone else to do it for me.
Customer Hung-up

3.    Lacking Integration of Multiple Channels
Usually, the problems could be simply stated. But the actual solutions could turn-out to be complicated and technical. And, this requires you to integrate multiple communication channels to the concerned channels.
Customer:  I’m suffering from a technical glitch in software.
CS executive: Yes. Can you explain the problem?
Customer:  Your software is using too much resource in my system. I can hardly run my actual software for business.
CS executive: Yes Sir. Our technical team has developed a solution for the problem. For this, the actual software needs to reinstall along with activating an additional bug that our developers have developed. You can access the bug at this website – asdsafh.com.
Customer: Can you email me the same solution?
CS executive: No. Sir. We are not authorized to have any other mode of communication. That would need you to send an email to our service portion of your business.
Customer: Can you just type it down and send it. I’m don’t think I’m required you to go through the same conversation.
CS executive: No. We are sorry. I’m not required to do that.
Customer(grudgingly): ok, then. I’ll send an Email.
Even as you lack a direct resolution to a problem, they could lack an efficient way to avail that to customers. Meanwhile, those particular customers would be never coming back to your businesses.

4.    Convoluted Call and Process Flow
Today, every business needs to accept that consumer time is a highly valuable commodity. This means no-more lengthy call transfers and handovers for every customer issue.
For this, you need to have a simplified and straight-forward way of managing call transfers and distribution of responsibilities.
Consider the following scenario.
Customer explains the problem. CS executive doesn’t have much of a clue.
Customer: I need support from the technical team.
CS executive: Yes, We will transfer you to our team lead.
Customer explains the problem. CS Manager doesn’t have much to come back with
Customer: Can you solve my problem
CS team lead: Sir, I’ll be transferring to my manager
Customer: No, sir. Just talk to any technical person
CS team lead: This is the protocol for transferring call. Please be patient.
Customer: OK
Customer explains the problem. Manager doesn’t have a resolution
Customer: Can you understand my problem.
CS Manager: Yes, sir. I’ll arrange an appropriate technical person to call you back. Thank you.
Customer shouts into the microphone and hangs-up.
All these could have been averted through streamlined ticket management system.

5.    High waiting Times for every Call
When you focusing on optimizing time expenditure, you can automatically optimize other aspects of your business too…. This requires you to manage phone calls through a single interface.
This also leads to increased level of frustration and irritability with customers. It’s also associated increase in customer complaints and outbursts.

 

Leave a Reply

